Well I almost fell for a phishing email today. I'm a member of Marketiva (forex trading platform) and today I received an email with the subject "MARKETIVA Your Identification Documents are Re-Requested". If you are a member of Marketiva delete that email immediately as it is a phishing email (scam) that is sent by a bunch of crooks and that's trying to fool you into giving away your username/password or eventually your identification details.
After asking Marketiva for support I've seen that the email mentioned above actually directed to a page (a hidden url) for a domain name called Marketiua, which is obviously a scam and has nothing to do with Marketiva. So be careful if you receive an email like the one below:
Dear Marketiva Traders,
Current status of identification documents ( personal detail )for your
Marketiva account is "Re-Requested".
Our support personnel indicated the following specific reasons for the re-request: Please scan a different document and resend, there is no stamp over your photo.
The identification documents you have uploaded in electronic form were inspected by our support personnel, but they did not pass the inspection
Please click on the link below to go to a page where you will be able to upload/ fill the identification documents again.
[Phishing url removed]
IMPORTANT: If our system detected this as a newly created duplicate, misrepresented, or parallel account, such account may already be disabled and you will not be able to access it anymore. Please read the details below to assist you in resolving related issues.
One person may open one Marketiva account only. Our administration system detects and suspends duplicate, misrepresented, or parallel accounts based on a very sophisticated computer model.
If you already have an account with incorrect data, you need to reply to this e-mail providing us with your actual first and last name, so we can update your name in our records. If your contact information is also incorrect, please update it at:
[Phishing url removed]
You will then need to contact us on the Live Support channel accessible through our web site, so we can verify your documents. Please do not use the Streamster software before your documents get verified; otherwise your account will be disabled again.
Thank you for using Marketiva services. Should you need any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Best Regards,
Marketiva Support Team
[Phishing url removed]
In the email I received you can spot that is a phishing attempt as if you hover over the urls you'll see that it links to a Marketiua.com/randomly_verify phishing link that tries to get your identity. 
Best thing to do when receiving these types of emails is to not click on anything inside the email but head on to the website as you have it saved in your favorites and see if anything is mentioned in there. If not, ask them for support and tell them what you received, but never login using links from an email, no matter if they seem to come from Paypal, Amazon, eBay or your bank. Too many people get fooled and have their identity stolen because of phishing, don't be one of them.

0 comments:
Post a Comment